A tribute to my amma

and all mothers and mothers to be.

F for Fenugreek/Menthikoora pulusu

Posted by Ratnavalli on September 28, 2006

The only one that came to my mind is Fenugreek . But I am trying to think of some telugu name that starts with F..

This is what happens when you choose english alphabets to write telugu/Andhra recipes.

I will keep my thinking caps on until I talk to amma or MIL and remember something about F .. until then shall continue with rest of the letters and see what I can write.

Updated on 11/27/2006 .

Well no other vegetable came in to my mind. But this is one simple recipe I love .

Plain yogurt ( curd) —- 3 cups

Chopped Fenugreek (methi) leaves 2 cups

Green chillies 3 finely chopped

for popu , 1tsp each of cumin,jeera , mustard and a pinch of hing

Salt as per taste

oil 1 tsp

turmeric a pinch

Beat the curd with some water ( approx 2 cups)

sprinkle some water on the fenugreek leaves ,add some salt and cook it . ( I usually do in a presure cooker for 10 mins).let it cool.

add cooked methi leaves ,green chilles to the beaten curd and mix

Do the popu and add to the curd,methi mix .

( instead of adding raw green chilles to the curd, you can fry with popu and then add , your choice) .

I like to eat this with roti’s or mudda pappu annam .

Leave a Reply

 
